A Real Live Gnome in Pennsylvania?

By Linda Moulton Howe

“I have a cabin north of Pittsburgh in the mountains of Western Pennsylvania …
I have a game camera set up in the woods to capture images of the abundant
wildlife in the area. Three weeks ago, I discovered a series of three images
of a creature that I have NEVER seen before.”

– Keith Sniadach, Writer, Pittsburgh, PA

“Gnome:  A legendary dwarfish creature supposed
to guard the Earth’s treasures underground.”


German garden gnomes (above) usually have bushy
eyebrows, a long beard and conical hat, often reddish in color.

August 23, 2014  Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania – In 1200 A.D., a Swedish man named Frederik Ugarph found a hard wood statue only about six inches (15 cm) high of a little person wearing a conical hat in what is now Trondheim, Norway. The statue was standing on a pedestal engraved with the words:  “NISSE Riktig Storrelse.” That means, “Gnome, actual height.” Owned and housed today by the Oliv family in Uppsala, Norway, X-ray tests indicate the wooden statue is more than 2,000 years old, perhaps carved from a tree that is no longer known.

Another historic account of a “miniature person” was written by a Roman sergeant named Publius Octavus in 470 A.D.:  “Today I saw a miniature person with my own eyes. He wore a red cap and blue shirt. He had a white beard and green pants. He said that he had lived in this land (Italy) for twenty years. He spoke our language, mixed with strange words. Since then I have spoken with the little man many times. He said he was a descendant of a race called Kuwalden, a word unknown to us, and that there were only a few of them in the world. He liked to drink milk. Time and again, I saw him cure sick animals in the meadows.”

 

A Gnome North of Pittsburgh?

On Thursday, August 21, 2014, the following email was sent to Earthfiles with images taken by a Bolymedia hunting camera sensitive to heat and movement. The sender, Keith Sniadach (SNY-dack) from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, gave me permission to reprint his email and images.

August 21, 2014

Hello Ms. Howe,

My name is Keith Sniadach. I am an author, screenwriter and researcher from Pittsburgh. My writing is geared toward the paranormal/supernatural. (You can go to Amazon and type my name in the search bar to see my books).

I’m writing to ask if you have had any reports come in of any gnomes/trolls or any other mythological and/or cryptid forest creatures like a brownie in the northeast U.S. — particularly Western Pennsylvania.

The reason is because I have a cabin north of Pittsburgh in the mountains of Western Pennsylvania where I enjoy the summer months. I have a game camera set up in the woods to capture images of the abundant wildlife in the area. I’ve been using one for almost 20 years now. Three weeks ago, after checking my camera, I discovered a series of three images of a creature that I have NEVER seen before. The images were taken consecutively and 1-second apart. It is not a leaf in the foreground or any type of weed or plant. My camera detects heat and motion, so whatever this was, it gave off heat and also moved.

Keith Sniadach:  “Of all the cameras I’ve used over the years at my cabin, this camera is, by far, the best! Long battery life, great distance, flash and very few, if any, false positives. Just an awesome camera.”

I’ve left the camera in the same spot all summer now in hopes of capturing more images of it, but I have not. My father and I also took comparison pictures to determine the height of this creature. It stands approximately 44-inches tall.

All I can say is, to me, it looks like a gnome, troll or brownie of some sort. In picture #1 (200 .jpg), the creature is walking towards the camera.

“Gnome” Image # 1
Wednesday, July 2, 2014, at 7:38:18 AM.


Click on image to enlarge in new expandable window.

“Gnome” Close Up of Image # 1
Wednesday, July 2, 2014, at 7:38:18 AM.


Click on image to enlarge in new expandable window.

It has a pink pig-like face, bulbous black eyes and a bizarre coned head. His legs are skinny. It’s not until pictures #2 (201 .jpg) and #3 (202 .jpg) where you can see the coned head seems to be a hat with a white ball on top. Also, in picture #2 his back is now facing towards the camera and it looks like he’s wearing leather of some sort.

Since all the gnome illustrations for centuries include bushy eyebrows and a beard along with the long conical pointed hat, perhaps what Keith interpreted as a snout is actually a beard and the “heavy lids” might be bushy eyebrows?

 

“Gnome” Image # 2
Wednesday, July 2, 2014, also at 7:38:18 AM.


Click on image to enlarge in new expandable window.

“Gnome” Close Up of Image # 2
Wednesday, July 2, 2014, also at 7:38:18 AM.


Click on image to enlarge in new expandable window.

“Gnome” Image # 3
Wednesday, July 2, 2014, at 7:38:20 AM.


Click on image to enlarge in new expandable window.

“Gnome” Close Up of Image # 3
Wednesday, July 2, 2014, at 7:38:20 AM.


Click on image to enlarge in new expandable window.

I’ve gotten pictures of unknown things before with my game camera, but always dismissed them because it was always one photo. With only one photo, it could be explained away as a bird taking flight with an upturned wing, a trick of light, lens flare, or misidentification or whatever. But, with three images, all showing pretty much the same creature, well . . . now I’m stumped. I posted the images on my Facebook page for my friends and one of them has actually seen a similar creature about 25 miles north of where these pictures were taken. She said she took a picture of it and would send me a copy, but I have yet to receive it.

We have had Bigfoot activity at my cabin for many years now too. I do go squatchin’ (searching for Bigfoot) on and around our property and have had some great results. My father and I heard a Bigfoot screaming from a valley one evening. My father answered it. What happened next was a 5-minute back-and-forth conversation of “screams” between my dad and the Bigfoot. I sent the series of recordings to Cliff Barackman from Finding Bigfoot. He said it was extremely compelling and in his estimation, I captured the audio of a Bigfoot. But, I’m not sure if that activity has anything to do with this creature though. Also, what is being called “The Winged Humanoid of Butler County” has been sighted by at least 8 to 10 people in the area. Again though, I’m not sure if this creature has anything to do with that one.

I’m attaching the three original pictures (feel free to enlarge them with your own software) and also my own personal enlargements as well. These pictures have not been altered in any way, shape or form and are completely authentic. I do not believe anyone is playing tricks on me. My cabin is in a remote area and no one knows where my game camera is. I believe this creature is a real one and not a hoax. I’m just completely stumped as to what this is or could be.

Thank you for any help you can give me Ms. Howe,

Keith Sniadach

Comments by Daniel Drasin,
Professional Digital Image Analyzer

 

August 22, 2014

Dear Linda,

This series of three frames from Keith Sniadach is a real headscratcher.

First of all, in my opinion Mr. Snaiadach seems entirely sincere — I get no red flags from his narrative. The EXIF data for all three JPEG files appears to confirm the technical details he has provided, and reveals that the images were captured on a Bolymedia hunting camera. (See Websites below for http://www.bolymedia.com/Products/?1-1.html). I see no obvious evidence of Photoshop manipulation, which, in this case, would have required considerable skill to pull off seamlessly.

The “gnome” figure is certainly one of the oddest manifestations I’ve ever seen. This whimsical porcine character (or at least his hat, which has no visible white ball at the top in the first frame) seems to have shape-shifted between these three frames, but it’s hard to tell. The main part (the head in the first one, and the apparent body in the second) seem to have correct shading for a three-dimensional object, given the dominant angle of illumination — from the upper left. I don’t know what to make of the conical shape in the third frame — it’s a much lighter color than the pointy hat we see in the first frame.

In all three frames this critter seems to be standing on two spindly legs that are disproportionately thin and narrow relative to the shape and size of the upper body and head. In the first frame there also appears to be something like an additional leg kicking out to the left, but it’s somewhat diaphanous and two-dimensional. I can’t imagine what it might be.

So there you have it. Mr. Sniadach mentions a possible cross-confirming photo taken by someone else. That would be most interesting to see if it becomes available.

Best,

=Dan=

More at:   http://www.earthfiles.com/news.php?ID=2227&category=Environment

Leave a Reply

